Approved Debt Securities Issuers

Home / Financial Institutions / Broker/Dealers & Counterparties / Approved Debt Securities Issuers

The Treasurer's Office actively maintains a list of approved debt securities issuers that are authorized and suitable for investments.  These entities are reviewed on a regular basis for continuing creditworthiness and eligibility pursuant to requirements under state statutes and agency policies.  The list includes a variety of securities issuers, dealers and funds, including:


In line with the Treasurer's commitment to community development and accountability, it is important to note that all securities issuers listed below that have a Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) rating (i.e. banks and financial institutions) maintain a rating of "outstanding" or "satisfactory" (as of December 31, 2016).


Commercial Paper Issuers

3M Co.


AllianceBernstein LP

Alphabet Inc.

Apple Inc.

Archer-Daniels-Midland Co.

Automatic Data Processing Inc.

BMW US Capital LLC

Boeing Company

Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.

Caterpillar Inc.

Chevron Corp.

Citigroup Inc.

Colgate-Palmolive Co.

Danaher Corp.

Deere & Co.

Eli Lilly & Co.

Exxon Mobil Corp.

GlaxoSmithKline PLC

Honeywell International Inc.


IBM Corp.

Illinois Tool Works Inc.

ING Group

Intel Corp.

Johnson & Johnson

JPMorgan Chase & Co.

MetLife Inc.

Merck & Co., Inc.

Microsoft Corp.

Novartis AG

MUFG Americas Holdings Corp.

Nestle SA


PepsiCo Inc.

Pfizer Inc.

Praxair Inc.

Prudential Financial Inc.

Roche Group

Siemens Capital

TD Bank Group 

The Bank of New York Mellon Corp.

The Boeing Co.

The Coca-Cola Co.

The Hershey Co.

The Home Depot Inc.

The PNC Financial Services Group Inc.

The Proctor & Gamble Co.

The Walt Disney Co.

UBS Group

UnitedHealth Group Inc.

United Parcel Service, Inc.


Corporate Bond Issuers

3M Co.

Alphabet Inc.

Apple Inc.

Automatic Data Processing Inc.

Chevron Corp.

Colgate-Palmolive Co.

Exxon Mobil Corp.

Johnson & Johnson

Microsoft Corp.

The Bank of New York Mellon Corp.

The Procter & Gamble Co.

US Bancorp, US Bank NA


Repo Dealers

Bank of Montreal

BMO Capital Markets Corp.

Bank of Nova Scotia

Barclays Capital Inc.

Citigroup Global Markets Inc.

HSBC Securities USA Inc.

JPMorgan Securities LLC

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith

Mizuho Securities USA Inc.*

Northern Trust Corp.

SunTrust Bank

UBS Americas Inc.


Agencies and Treasuries

Federal Agricultural Mortgage Corp.

Federal Farm Credit Banks Funding Corp.

Federal Home Loan Banks

Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corp.

Federal National Mortgage Association

Tennessee Valley Authority

U.S. Small Business Administration

U.S. Treasury


Supranational Issuers

International Bank for Reconstruction and Development

International Finance Corporation

Inter-American Development Bank


Money Market Funds

Goldman Sachs Financial Square Funds

Invesco Short-Term Investments Trust

Morgan Stanley Institutional Liquidity Funds

Northern Institutional Funds

Western Asset Institutional Government Reserves


Taxable Municipal Securities

Athens Community Unit School District 213

Bellwood School Distict 86

Chicago Housing Authority

City of Evanston

City of Rock Falls

County of Winnebago

Forest Preserve District of Kane County

Geneseo Community Unit School District 228

Heartland Community College District 540

Homer Community Consolidated School District 33C

Joliet Junior College Community College District 525

Lewis and Clark Community College District 536

Leyden High School District 212

Maine Township High School District 207

Minooka Community Consolidated School District 201

Moraine Valley Community College District 524

North Palos Elementary School District 117

Plainfield Community Consolidated School District 202

Roselle School District 12

Southwestern Community Unit School District 9

Sparta Community Unit School District 140

Troy Community Consolidated School District 30-C

Urbana School District 116

Village of Addison

Village of Bedford Park

Village of Northbrook

Village of Oak Park

Village of Orland Park

Village of Palatine

Village of Rosemont

Village of Skokie

Warren Township High School District 121

West Aurora School District 129

West Northfield School District 31

Woodland Community Consolidated School District 50



Taxable Municipal Securities


Qualifying Criteria:

  • Taxable interest-bearing bonds issued by counties or municipal corporations of Illinois
  • Bonds must be at a price not to exceed par
  • Bonds shall be registered in Illinois or held under a custodial agreement at a financial institution
  • Bonds shall be rated, at the time of purchase, at/above AA- by S&P or at/above Aa3 for Moody's
  • No individual bond purchase can represent more than 25% of the issuer's total issuances
  • No individual bond purchase shall exceed $1 million
  • The maturity date(s) of the bonds, at the time of purchase, shall not exceed 5 years

*Approved debt issuer but only eligible for State Portfolio purchases


Disclaimer: The Office of the Illinois State Treasurer does not endorse or recommend any companies, products, or services. Therefore, this list does not constitute or imply an endorsement or recommendation. This list is being provided solely for informational purposes. This list is subject to change without notice, and the companies on it are not guaranteed to remain as approved counterparties. Being an approved debt securities issuer does not imply or promise that a company will receive work from the Office of the Illinois State Treasurer.